Principal investigator

Nick Ramsey’s lab is a multidisciplinary group of scientists that study human brain function. The central motive of the lab is to elucidate the neuronal mechanisms underlying human brain function in health, in order to help patients with neurological and psychiatric disorders, with a focus on neurotechnologies, such as Brain-Computer Interfaces. We research on many topics from hand & speech sensorimotor function, to language, vision and working memory processes.

A list of our publications can be found here.


Faculty & Postdocs

Mariska Vansteensel

Assistant Professor

Erik Aarnoutse

Assistant Professor

Zachary Freudenburg

Senior Postdoc

Mathijs Raemaekers

Senior Researcher

Max van den Boom

Junior Researcher


Research assistants

Simon Geukes

Research Assistant

Maaike van Tuinen

Research Assistant / Flow manager


Staff & Support

Annemiek Elbertse

Administrative Assistant

Vincent Kersten

System Administrator



Frans Leijten, UMC Utrecht Brain Center, Department of Neurology, Utrecht

Natalia Petridou, UMC Utrecht Center for Image Sciences, Utrecht

Wouter SchellekensUMC Utrecht Center for Image Sciences, Utrecht

Frans van der Helm, TU Delft, Delft

Julia Berezutskaya, Radboud University, Nijmegen

Maxime Verwoert, Maastricht University, Maastricht


Nathan Crone, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA

Dora HermesMayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Kai Miller, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Anna Gaglianese, University Hospital Center and University of Lausanne, Switzerland



Maxime Verwoert – Flow manager

Julia Berezutskaya –  PhD candidate

Philippe Cornelisse – Flow manager

Efraïm Salari – PhD candidate

Elmar G M Pels – Flow manager and PhD candidate

Lisette Charbonnier – Postdoc

Mark L C M Bruurmijn – PhD candidate

Anna Gaglianese – Postdoc

Floor Buma – PhD candidate

Wouter Schellekens – PhD candidate

Martin Bleichner – PhD candidate

Bart Ferguson – Flow manager


Niek van der Aa – PhD candidate

Jeroen Siero – PhD candidate

Gert Kirsto – PhD candidate

Patrik Andersson – PhD candidate

Tom Snijders – PhD candidate

Peter Bos – PhD candidate

Dora Hermes – PhD candidate

Mathijs Bossong – PhD candidate

Erika van Hell – PhD candidate

Tamar van Raalten – PhD candidate

Theo van Erp – PhD candidate